VACE Committees

Much of the work of our organization is accomplished by dedicated, talented committees. Learn more about these opportunities for engagement in VACE through participation in standing committees.

Awards Committee:

This committee is responsible for soliciting from the membership nominations for recipients of VACE awards. Members of this committee review nominations to ensure they meet criteria for receipt of the award which is conferred at the Annual Conference.

  • 2019-2020 Chair: Carolyn Sutphin
  • 2019-2020 Members: Peggy Reed, Scott Robert

Board Committee:

These committees are comprised of current VACE board members, to provide oversight for essential functions of the organization.

Board Nominations Committee:

  • 2019-2020 Chair: Peggy Reed (Immediate Past President)

Constitution and By-Laws Committee:

  • 2019-2020 Members: Peggy Reed (Immediate Past President), Amy Foster (President), and Carolyn Sutphin (Director of Operations)

Conference Committee:

This group of individuals plans the Annual Conference held each spring; develops programs and publicity, handles registration and local arrangements, and oversees finances related to the conference.

  • 2019-2020 Chairs: Kristin Stephens (College Director) and Christina Brooks (Employer Director) 
  • 2019-2020 Members: Carolyn Sutphin (Awards Chair), Peggy Reed (Awards), Scott Robert (Awards), Andrea Cordray (Door Prizes), Katie Beach (Employer Engagement), Dorothy Hayden (Employer Engagement), Debbie Murray (Employer Engagement), Nicole Shaw (Employer Engagement), Dannita Trice (Employer Engagement), Laura Hickerson (Local Arrangements), Chelsey Parsons (Newcomer Event), Megan Eckart (Newcomer Event), Don Snyder (Newcomer Event), Samantha Collier (Newcomer Event), Steven White (PR/Marketing), Angie McAdams (Programs), Lorayah Lenore (Programs), Andy Park (Programs Chair), Summer Steelman (Programs), Wendy Buie (Registration Chair), Angie McAdams (Registration), Jonathan Byers (Registration/Technology), Barbara Watts (Sponsorship Chair), Dorothy Hayden (Sponsorship), Amy Foster (VACE President), Philip Wilkerson (Social Media), Bev Reid (Site Selection), Toni McLawhorn (Site Selection)


Marketing & Membership Committee:

The Membership Committee and the Marketing Services committees are responsible for analyzing membership composition, and developing and implementing an action plan to promote VACE to non-member organizations with the goal to increase the membership and membership diversity. Will assist with developing a membership renewal campaign, contacting current members and following up with those replacing former members. VACE marketing materials will be updated and given to non-members and as well as to members to distribute through their organizations and events in order to promote membership. The Membership Orientation Committee welcomes new members to VACE through appropriate correspondence and fosters the new collegiate relationship developed through membership including welcome packets and orientation sessions at the Annual Conference. The committee’s primary goal is to promote retention and involvement in orientation, mentorship, and leadership activities. This committee will target and communicate with primarily new members, and also with inactive members, of the organization. The goal is to seek out new members while they are fresh to the organization, hopefully to encourage their involvement in activities and potential.

  • 2019-2020 Chair: Amanda Grantham
  • 2019-2020 Members: Faby Argandona, Amanda Tintaya, Kyle Hodges, Quintrel Lenore, Kyle Billetere, Carolyn Sutphin, Philip Wilkerson

Professional Development Committee:

The Professional Development Committee works to plan regional events throughout the year to help VACE members stay connected with one another and provide continuous learning opportunities. Events such as networking receptions, webinars and one day drive-in conferences will be planned. Members of the committee will assist in finding speakers, marketing opportunities and hosting events.

  • 2020-2021 Chair: Samara Reynolds
  • 2020-2021 Members: Sheila Tria, Jessica Majkowycz, Jenna Rowlands, Carolyn Sutphin, Kate Bergey, Debbie Lumpkin, Jen Spataro-Wilson, Katie Kinniburgh, Victoria Suarez, Andy Park, Monique Sample, Michelle Bennett, Anne Afriyie, Lynn Seuffert, Quintrel Lenore

Site Selection Committee:

The Site Selection Committee works to find and negotiate proposals/contracts for future Annual Conference locations.

  • 2019-2020 Chair: Peggy Reed (Immediate Past President)
  • 2019-2020 Members: Bev Reid, Toni McLawhorn

Technology & Communications Committee:

This committee is comprised of members who consider and propose ways in which VACE can best use technology to communicate with members and provide services. New ideas and initiatives are welcomed and encouraged. Members of this committee oversee specific aspects of VACE’s use of technology. Because technology is used to support other VACE work, individuals work closely with other committees in order to coordinate these efforts; these include the committees that coordinate marketing and membership services, and the annual conference committee. Specific tasks of technology committee members include serving as the administrator/manager of the VACE listserv, VACE website, VACE newsletter, LinkedIn account, and social media (Facebook, Instgram, and Twitter) accounts.

  • 2020-2021 Chair: Amanda Tintaya
  • 2020-2021 Members: Amanda Tintaya (Webmaster), Quintrel Lenore (Social Media Manager), Carolyn Sutphin (Listserv Manager), Philip Wilkerson (Social Media Manager/Newsletter Committee)

Want to get involved?

If you would like to join a committee or have questions? Email [email protected] or complete the committee interest form.

powered by MemberClicks