VACE Board

These VACE members also serve on the Board of Directors. Feel free to contact any of the board members if you have questions.

Minutes from recent board meetings are available to members once they login, under the Member Resources tab.

Current Board Members

For phone numbers and additional contact information for Board Members, please login to this site and then click on the Member Resources tab to access the member directory. Have general questions? Please email [email protected]




Kimberly Phillips
Eastern Mennonite University
[email protected]


Past President
Amy Foster
Roanoke College 
[email protected]  
Scott Robert
Lynchburg College
[email protected] 
png Director of Finance
Dorothy Hayden
George Mason University 
[email protected]

Director of Finance-Elect
Summer Steelman
Old Dominion UniversityUniversity
[email protected]
 JPG Image Director of Operations 
Carolyn Sutphin 
Radford University 
[email protected] 
 jpg Director of Marketing & Membership
Amanda Grantham
Shenandoah University 
[email protected]

 png Director of Professional Development
Samara Reynolds
Virginia Commonwealth University
[email protected]
  Director of Technology & Communications
Amanda Tintaya 
Shenandoah University 
[email protected] 
 png Employer Director/Conference Chair
Christina Brooks
Hampton Roads Workforce Council
[email protected]

College Director/Conference Chair
Sheyonn Baker 
Hollins University 
[email protected]

VACE Committees and Committee Chairs

For a listing of those involved in VACE Committees, visit our Committees page.

VACE Leadership:

For an organizational chart of VACE Board Members, Conference Committee Chairs/Managers and Appointed Positions, click here.

Our 2020-2021 VACE Elections took place May 20 - June 20, 2020. Check back soon to learn more about our recently elected VACE Executive Board members for the positions of President-Elect, Director of Finance-Elect, Director of Technology and Communications, Director of Membership and Marketing, and College Director. 

Board Position Descriptions:

Detailed Board, Committee Chair/Manager and Committee position descriptions can be found here. If you are interested in serving on the VACE Board and have questions about any of the board positions, please contact a current board member. If you have any updates to position descriptions please email [email protected] with your corrections.


The President shall serve a one (1) year term and preside at all meetings of the membership; shall chair meetings of the Board; shall call meetings of the Corporation; shall appoint committee chairpersons and fill positions except as designated in these By-Laws; shall arrange for annual financial review; shall recommend to the Board for approval successors to fill unexpired terms of Board members; shall present an annual proposed budget to the Board for approval. The President shall serve as Chair of the Executive Committee and serve as an ex-officio member of all committees and administer the business of the Corporation between Board meetings, exercising authority consistent with these By-Laws.

Immediate Past President

The Immediate Past-President of the Corporation shall serve a one (1) year term in which he/she will Chair the Nominations Committee; Co-chair the Strategic Planning Committee; serve as liaison to Site Selection; and serve on the Executive Committee.


The President-Elect shall serve a one (1) year term and perform all duties of the President at his/her request and shall fill the unexpired term of the office of President should it become vacant. The President-Elect serves as Co-Chair of Strategic Planning and member of the Executive Committee.

Director of Finance

The Director of Finance shall serve a two (2) year term and shall maintain a record of all corporation financial business including revenue, expenses, other monies, as well as annual tax requirements and shall present the approved annual budget to the membership. The Director of Finance serves on the Executive Committee.

Director of Finance-Elect

The Director of Finance-Elect shall serve a one (1) year term and perform all duties of the Director of Finance at his/her request and shall fill the unexpired term of the office of Director of Finance should it become vacant. The Director of Finance-Elect serves on the Board, but not on the Executive Committee and serves as the Chair of Sponsorships of the Conference Committee.

Director of Operations

The Director of Operations shall serve a two (2) year term and be a member of the Executive Committee and issue invitations and notifications as shall be required by the Board to handle all official correspondence; keep official minutes of the meetings of the Board and of the Corporation; maintain the Administrative Manual; and annually review the Articles of Incorporation and By-laws and present revisions for approval to the Board. The Director of Operations will also serve as liaison to the Awards Committee, the Newsletter Editor, and the Historian.

Director of Marketing & Membership Services

The Director of Marketing and Membership Services shall serve a two (2) year term and shall serve as liaison to the Marketing and Membership Services Committee and Membership Orientation and Networking Committee. The Director of Marketing and Membership will serve as ex-officio member of the Marketing and Membership Services Committee.

Director of Professional Development

The Director of Training and Development will serve a two (2) year term and serve as the liaison to the Training and Development Committee and Professional Development Scholarship Chair.

Director of Technology & Communications

The Director of Technology & Communications shall serve a two (2) year term and will serve as liaison to the Technology & Communications Committee. (Also serves as Web Content Manager or liaison to the Web Content Manager)

College Director & Employer Director

There shall be two (2) elected Directors who shall serve for a staggered two (2) year term.  The College Director and the Employer Director shall serve as representatives of their respective constituents. (Both also serve as conference co-chairs.)

powered by MemberClicks